.

0

Forty-Sixth Meeting

May 9, 1977

.

. .

.

The Minutes of the Forty-sixth meeting of the Executive Committee of the Faculty Council of Science held on Monday, May 9, 1977 at 10:00 a.m. in the Faculty Conference Room, 250 Allen Building.

Members Present: R. D. Connor, Chairman; Professors P. K. Isaac, B. D. Macpherson, C. Platt, K. (Mrs.) Subrahmaniam, A. Olchowecki, G. Robinson, D. Burton, H. Duckworth, Mr. G. Richardson, Secretary.

Regrets: Professor K. Stewart

Visitor: Mr. E. Lister

1. Approval of the Minutes of the Forty-fifth meeting

The minutes of the forty-fifth meeting held on January 25, 1977 were approved Burton (Duckworth).

2. Matters Arising Therefrom

There were no matters arising from the minutes of the 45th meeting.

3. Communications

۲.

There were no communications.

4. Selection of the Gold Medal Winners

The Chairman checked with Mr. Eric Lister as to the criteria for awarding the Gold Medals. Mr. Lister, having discussed this with the Director of Awards, Professor C. Henry, informed the Committee that the Gold Medal was awarded to the student achieving the highest standing in his/her graduating year.

Mr. Lister explained the material that he had prepared for this meeting. This material listed the top candidates in each category i.e. Honours and General.

It was subsequently moved Duckworth (Burton) that:

"the Gold Medal for general students for 1976/77 be awarded to Gordon, Linda Anne (360134)"

Unanimous

... 2

- 2 -

It was moved Robinson (Olchowecki) that:

"the Gold Medal for Honours students for 1976/77 be

awarded to Sherrer, Angela Ellen (833185)"

Unanimous

5. Appointment to Student Standing Committee

The Chairman read a letter that he had received from Dean Cooke, past Chairman of the Student Standing Committee, requesting that the Executive Committee appoint two replacements to that committee. Three names had been suggested by Dean Cooke. The Executive Committee agreed to vote by secret ballot; the result was that Drs. Duckworth and Halvorson were elected. Their terms will be for three years commencing June 1, 1977.

Dean Macpherson requested the committee's advice regarding a replacement for Dr. Oretzki who because of illness was not likely to return to the committee for some time. It was suggested to Dean Macpherson that he ask one of the retiring members to fill in temporarily until Dr. Oretzki's return.

There being no further business the committee adjourned at 10:35 a.m.

rde

1077

THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA

Inter-Departmental Correspondence

								DATE	<u><u><u></u></u><u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u><u></u></u></u>
A11	members	of	the	Executive	Committee	of	Science	Faculty	Council

SUBJECT:

FROM

TO_

The forty-sixth meeting of the Executive Committee of Faculty Council will be held on Monday, May 9, 1977 at 10:00 a.m. in the Faculty Conference Room, 250 Allen Building.

AGENDA

1. Approval of the Minutes of the forty-fifth meeting.

2. Matters Arising therefrom.

3. Communications.

G. Richardson, Secretary

4. Selection of the Gold Medal Winners in Science Honours and Science General programs.

5. Appointment of two members to the Student Standing Committee.

Other business.

gr/sc

6.

cc: E. Lister