The Minutes of the 67th Meeting of the Executive Committee of Science Faculty Council held on Wednesday, June 10, 1981 at 2:30 p.m. in Room 250 Allen Building.

Members Present: C.C. Bigelow, Chairman; P.K. Isaac, N.E. Losey,

D. McKinnon, N. Hunter, K. Stewart, K. Kocherlakota,

T. Berry, R.G. Woods; S. Catt, Secretary.

Regrets: N. Arnason, J. Stewart, H. Christianson

Visitors: D. Derenchuk, Prof. C.E. Henry, Director of Awards Office

1) The Chairman noted a correction to the minutes of the 66th meeting; on page 3, the motion carried with 5 in favour and 4 opposed. With this correction the minutes were approved on a motion by K. Stewart (Berry).

#### 2) Selection of Faculty Awards Winners

The Chairman introduced the visitors, D. Derenchuk, Administrative Assistant in the Faculty Office, and Prof. C.E. Henry, Director of Awards.

The awards were considered in order of monetary value.

#### Alumni Association Scholarship

Two scholarships are available, and were awarded to #5206143 JAWORSKI, Richard Grant; and #5215064 ZEGALSKI, Cynthia Jean.

#### University of Manitoba Faculty Association Scholarship

One scholarship is available and was awarded to #5201849 WONG, Michael W-K.

#### Dr. Maxwell S. Rady Scholarship

One scholarship is available and was awarded to #5221434 BERNSTEIN, Charles Noah.

Dr. Losey disagreed with this choice as another student (Richardson) was equally qualified and at this point it was moved by Dr. Woods (Losey) that

"in the event that any of the first three award winners named did not take up their award, it revert to #5310784 RICHARDSON, Marvin Clifford".

CARRIED.

Some discussion ensued on the question of naming alternate winners which resulted in Prof. Losey moving (Hunter)

"that the previous motion be withdrawn".

CARRIED.

It was decided to proceed with the awards without considering alternates.

### The Rosabelle Searle Leach Scholarship

There is one scholarship available and it was awarded to \$5310784 RICHARDSON, Marvin, Clifford.

### The Morton Stall Memorial Scholarship

There is one scholarship available and it was awarded to #5221434 BERNSTEIN, Charles Noah.

## The Benjamin Cohen Scholarship

There is one scholarship available and it was awarded to #5310784 RICHARDSON, Marvin Clifford.

The University Women's Club of Winnipeg Undergraduate Scholarship in Science

There is one scholarship available and it was awarded to #5230084 FUNG, Doris L.W.

# Isbister Undergraduate Scholarship

There are five awards available and it was decided to divide these among the eight students with GPA's of 4.40:

#5110915, CLARK, Donald F.

#5235464, FOGEL, Marten Lionel

#5213821, KARDASH, Kenneth Jeffrey

#5223774, MINUK, Jeffrey

#5308842, ROMAN, Rita Susan

#5320794, SHARMAN, David John

#5317469, SMITH, Brian Ronald

#5126626, STEPHENS, Allan Jeffrey.

It was moved by K. Stewart (Kocherlakota) that

"Prof. Henry and Mrs. Derenchuk or Mrs. Johannson be empowered to make whatever alterations are required as a result of students being unable to accept awards, etc. and implement the decisions made at this meeting".

CARRIED.

### 3) Other Business

- i) Membership of Student Standing Committee
  Prof. Hoskins' term ended and Prof. Losey moved (K. Stewart) that
  Prof. H.C. Williams be recommended for membership for a three-year
  term.

  CARRIED.
- The Chairman referred to a suggestion made at an earlier meeting that students in first year be required to take courses in at least four subject areas, and said he and Prof. Losey had recently discussed this matter with Prof. Weil, Head of the English Department, who would like to see a compulsory English course in place. Prof. Losey referred to a former requirement for Science students of a basic humanities course and would like to have the Executive discuss having some such requirement again. Prof. Isaac asked if any progress had been made towards instituting a writing skills course. The question of four areas of study will be considered at a forthcoming Executive meeting.

111) Prof. Hunter raised the matter of the number of gold medals awarded and noted at the recent convocations the University of Winnipeg awarded 47 medals while Manitoba had only 27. Dean Bigelow said information on medals and scholarships available at the University of Manitoba would be presented at the next Executive meeting.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:25 p.m.

### THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA

# Inter-Departmental Correspondence

	DATE_May 26, 1981
ro	Members of the Executive Committee of Science Faculty Council
FROM	Sheila Catt, Secretary to the Committee
SUBJECT:	

The 67th meeting of the Executive Committee will be held on Wednesday, June 10th at 2:30 p.m. in room 250 Allen Bldg.

#### AGENDA

- 1) Approval of the Minutes of the 65th meeting (attached).
- 2) Selection of the Faculty Award Winners.
- 3) Other business.

SC/rmc