May 14/85

The Minutes of the 83rd Meeting of the Executive Committee of Science Faculty Council held on Tuesday, May 14, 1985 at 3:30 p.m. in Room 250 Allen Building.

Present: P. K. Isaac (Chair), J. W. Berry, A. N. Arnason, N. Hunter,

D. McKinnon

P. Pachol (Acting Secretary), H. Paterson, S. Johannson

Regrets: G. I. Paul

#### Selection of Science Gold Medallists 1.

Dean Isaac introduced Ms. Heather Paterson, Student Advisor, who took the members through the list of candidates eligible for selection as Science Gold Medallists.

## B.Sc. Honours Program

Moved by McKinnon(Hunter) that the gold medal be awarded to:

Daryl John SCORA #5426744

Unanimous

# Honours B.C.Sc. Program

Taking into account his full and more difficult course load, moved by Arnason(Berry) that the gold medal be awarded to:

#5425202

Bradley Michael DEBRONI

CARRIED

## Four Year Major Program

Moved by Hunter (McKinnon) that the gold medal be awarded to:

#5427534

Grant Trevor GUSSIE

Unanimous

### General Program

Taking into account his number of 2nd yr. courses and heavy labs, moved by Arnason(Hunter) that the gold medal be awarded to:

#5502753

Robert Ross MCEWEN

Unanimous

#### Other Business 2.

Dean Isaac brought up the subject of Faculty elections and that we were short of one nomination for Faculty Executive after having extended the deadline. Dean Isaac also mentioned that he had

received one objection to his suggestion of drawing a name out of a hat for the one-year term for Senate.

Dean Isaac put forward the suggestion that he might ask for volunteers from among the nominees to take the one-year terms and present this suggestion to the faculty in memo form. It was agreed that if no strong objections were raised by faculty that this procedure be followed.

A short discussion followed on finding a better way of handling nominations in the future. Dr. Arnason suggested that each department council might select a representative for nomination to these committees.

There being no further business meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.



THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA

#### FACULTY OF SCIENCE

239 Machray Hall Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada R3T 2N2

TO:

Members of the Executive Committee of

Science Faculty Council

FROM:

S. Catt, Secretary

DATE:

April 30, 1985

The 83rd meeting of the Executive Committee is scheduled for Tuesday, May 14, 1985 at 3:30 p.m. in Room 250 Allen Building.

The purpose of the meeting is to select Science Gold Medallists.

SC/pap

cc: Dr. C. E. Henry, Director, Financial Aid and Awards

PH PL MB