Minutes of the Faculty Council of Science held on Wednesday, April 23, 1986 at 3:00 p.m. in Room 207 Buller Building. # 52 B. Westelaken Present: C. C. Bigelow (Chair) N. E. R. Campbell A. Naimark P. Loewen J. W. Berry Salate. S. K. Sinha N. E. Losey R. S. D. Thomas R. D. Connor D. P. Singh A. MacPherson F. Konopasek R. Lyric N. R. Hunter D. Burton F. Hruska I. Suzuki K. L. Sadana F. J. Ward E. Shiu T. Dandy H. Finlayson W. Falk F. Zeiler J. Gee B. R. Henry S. Oh D. H. Hall A. Gerhard A. Turnock G. Woods J. Svenne N. M. Halden B. D. Macpherson S. Cheng K. Mount G. I. Paul C. R. Platt T. Secco P. McClure . A. Chow P. Pachol (Secretary) G. G. Hickling E. Goldie, E. Ross S. Johannson J. McConnell D. Lawless Regrets: W. Brisbin J. McKee R. Dowling J. Reid J. Finlay J. Shay C. K. Gupta

D. Johnson

W. Last

F. G. Stambrook

W. van Oers

Dean Bigelow mentioned that the first item on the agenda would be the - Fund Drive.

The Meeting was then handed over to President Naimark who said a few words about the fund drive in general. He mentioned that the Faculty of Science campaign is very important as it is a benchmark faculty in the campaign.

Dean Bigelow then introduced Ms. Elaine Goldie, the University Fund Drive Co-ordinator, who gave a detailed presentation on the fund drive. Her presentation was followed by remarks from Dr. Robin Connor as the Academic Staff Co-ordinator for the Faculty. A question and answer period followed.

Dean Bigelow expressed his appreciation to Dr. Connor and Ms. Elisabeth Ross for their agreement to coordinate the Faculty's Fund Drive and hoped that the faculty will find the fund drive a supportable project. -2

- 1. Minutes of the 51st meeting of Tuesday, October 15, 1985 were APPROVED on a motion Campbell (Sinha). CARRIED
- 2. Course Change Proposals

The Chairman advised that proposals had been considered and approved by the Executive Committee and brought to Faculty Council for information. No questions were raised.

3. Academic Regulations

(a) Honours Regulations

Dean J. Berry moved on behalf of the Executive Committee that:

"In order to graduate with an Honours degree, a student must obtain a sessional grade point average of 2.00 or better (with no failures) in year 4." CARRIED

(b) Mature Student Performance Requirements

Dean J. Berry moved on behalf of the Executive Committee that:

"Mature students admitted under current Faculty of Science admission standards (effective September 1984) will be assessed on the same criteria as regular B.Sc. (General) students." CARRIED

4. Merit Awards

Moved by the Executive Committee:

"That three faculty members be elected to serve on the Faculty Merit Award Committee one from and by each of the three divisions--biology, physical sciences, and mathematics/computer science. The terms of members shall be three years. The committee will arrange for staggering of the first members' terms. The Dean shall be the non-voting chair of the committee."

CARRIED

--3

Moved by the Executive Committee:

"That the criteria used for merit awards be demonstrated excellence in research or teaching or both in the previous year."

Dr. Sinha asked the question how is the committee to decide who is to be a candidate for an award? Dean Bigelow suggested this be discussed at the first meeting of the Committee.

Dr. Woods asked what does "in the previous year" mean? It is ambiguous as it stands--research is ongoing. Dean Bigelow suggested that the Committee discuss this phrase and clarify it.

The vote was taken and CARRIED.

5. Faculty Elections

ς.

The Dean called for additional nominations for Senate and Executive Committee.

Dean Losey nominated Prof. C. Platt to be Scrutineer. CARRIED

6. Amendment to Zoology Department Council By-Laws

The Zoology Departmental Council has passed the following amendment: that By-Law 1B be changed by replacing the word "General" with "Major". By-law 1B would now read:

- "1. Membership
 - b) Three students: 1 graduate student elected by and from within the graduate students enrolled in the department of Zoology 1 4th year Honours Zoology student and 1 Zoology <u>Major</u> student selected in a manner agreed upon between the Senior Stick of the Faculty of Science and the Head of the Zoology Department. Each student member shall have a regular alternate, chosen from within the same group, in the manner described above, to attend meetings in his/her absence."

Moved by Gee(Ward) that the amendment to By-law lb be approved.

CARRIED

--4

This amendment will now be forwarded to Senate Committee on Rules and Procedures for approval.

- 7. Other Business
 - i. Proposed terms of reference for the Endowment Committee of the Faculty of Science were distributed (attached for information).

Item 3a was revised to read as follows:

3.a) The Endowment Committee shall consider applications for use of the funds and shall recommend on the funding of projects at their discretion.

Dean Losey reported that an ad hoc committee was set up to work out the terms of reference for the Faculty Endowment Fund. Dean Losey asked if faculty council was willing to consider the terms of reference as a notice of motion.

Moved by Losey (Konopasek):

"That the terms of reference be placed before Faculty Council for consideration."

Many questions were raised i.e. What is the composition of the University Endowment Committee? Who will manage and control investment of funds? Is there a General Endowment Fund?

The Chairman stated that, as we need to have a few more answers to questions, the matter be referred back to the ad hoc committee who should report back to Faculty Council.

ii. Prof. Henry mentioned that he was very disturbed with the lay-offs in the shops and outlined his reasons for concern. Prof. Falk was disturbed with the magnitude of the cut.

Deans Losey and Bigelow spoke to these concerns.

iii. Prof. Woods asked for a brief statement about faculty finances.

Dean Bigelow spoke on this subject. At present we have been given an interim budget at addback 3 which would mean about a 5% cut or approximately \$600,000. If this becomes a reality it would be disastrous for the Faculty. Dean Bigelow mentioned that when something definite is heard he will immediately be meeting with heads and if necessary call a special meeting of Faculty Council.

Meeting adjourned 4:40 p.m.

Endowment Committee of the Faculty of Science

- 1. The Endowment Committee shall consist of six members, each chosen for a three year term. Normally two terms will expire each year. Faculty Council will elect three members, one each year. The Dean of Science will appoint three members, from among friends of the Faculty of Science. At least one member is to be not an employee of the University of Manitoba. The Dean of Science shall name the chair of the committee, and provide a secretary for the committee.
- 2. The Endowment Committee shall meet at least once a year, and report to the Dean of Science.
- 3. a) The Endowment Committee shall consider applications for use of the funds and shall recommend on the funding of projects at their discretion.
 - b) The Endowment Committee shall cooperate with the Department of Private Funding in raising endowment funds for the Faculty of Science.
- 4. Endowment funds may be used for interdepartmental projects, teaching equipment, research equipment, postdoctoral fellowships and assistantships, graduate scholarships, undergraduate scholarships, visiting lectures, visiting lecture series, short or long term visiting scientists, library acquisitions, technical staff for new programs or special research projects, special leaves, field trips, or any other use consistent with the academic goals of the Faculty of Science.
- 5. These guidelines are to be reviewed once every five years by the Faculty Council of Science.