May 14/86

Minutes of the 87th meeting of the Executive Committee of Science Faculty Council held Wednesday, May 14, 1986 at 9:00 a.m. in 250 Allen Building.

Present:

C.C. Bigelow (Chair), J.W. Berry, K.W. Stewart, W.G. Baldwin, J.P. McClure, N.R. Hunter, K.S. Mount; S. Johannson, J. McConnell, J. Wigston, P. Pachol (Secretary)

Dean Bigelow turned the meeting over to Sylvia Johnannson who asked the following question. Should students in the major and general program enrolled on a part-time basis be eligible for the Gold medal?

The Chairman followed with the question, Is there any reason to exclude them from the medal?

After discussion the following motion was put forward by Hunter (Mount):

"That students in the major and general program not enrolled in a full program still be eligible for the Gold medal."

After further discussion the vote was taken and CARRIED (one opposed).

This motion will be sent to Faculty Council for information.

# Selection of Science Gold Medallists

Ms. Joan Wigston, student advisor, took the members through the list of candidates eligible for selection as Science Gold Medallists.

## B.Sc. Honours Program

Moved by K. Stewart (Hunter) that the gold medal be awarded to:

#5507022 David KRISTJANSON

CARRIED

### Honours B.C.Sc. Program

Moved by Hunter (Baldwin) that the gold medal be awarded to:

#5533230 Steven SCHMIDT

CARRIED

### Four Year Major Program

Moved by K. Stewart (McClure) that the gold medal be awarded to:

#5518549 Theodore DEVOS

CARRIED

#### General Program

On the basis of her consistent high performance moved by K. Stewart (Mount) that the gold medal be awarded to:

#5528262 Gina DAROZA

CARRIED (one opposed)

Meeting adjourned 9:20 a.m.



THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA

## **FACULTY OF SCIENCE**

239 Machray Hall Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada R3T 2N2

May 6, 1986.

TO:

Members of the Executive Committee of

Science Faculty Council

FROM:

P. Pachol, Secretary 12 HP.

The 87th meeting of the Executive Committee is scheduled for Wednesday, May 14, 1986 at 9:00 a.m. in Room 250 Allen Building.

The purpose of the meeting is to select Science Gold Medallists.

/pap

cc:

C. E. Henry,

Director, Financial Aid and Awards