97 May 18/88 Minutes of the 97th Meeting of the Executive Committee of Science Faculty Council held Wednesday, May 18, 1988 at 9:00 a.m. in 250 Allen Building.

Present: C. C. Bigelow (Chair), D. N. Burton, G. Baldwin, N. Hunter,

J. P. McClure, T. J. Wiens, J. Hastings; P. Dueck, J. McConnell, H. Rowe, P. Pachol

Regrets: N. E. Losey, H. Williams

Dean Bigelow turned the meeting over to Ms. Helen Rowe, student advisor, who took the members through the list of candidates eligible for selection as Science Gold Medallists.

Selection of Science Gold Medalists

B.Sc. Honours Program

It was M/S/C that the gold medal be awarded to:

#5711537 Elizabeth Lynn WHITMORE

Dean Bigelow mentioned that this award is particularly interesting in that Ms. Whitmore is hearing impaired.

Honours B.C.Sc.

Ms. Rowe mentioned that last year decision on the medal was deferred until October in order to consider the students in the Coop program who had higher standing than the students in the regular honours program. This year there are no Coop students in the running.

It was M/S/C that the gold medal be awarded to:

#5736626 Pierre Henri DOYLE

Four Year Major Program

It was M/S/C that the gold medal be awarded to:

#5715264 Eileen Louise LACROIX

General Program

It was M/S/C that the gold medal be awarded to:

#5719423 Fareed Ahmad ALI

Governor General's Silver Medal

The Senate Committee on Awards recommends that this year the Governor General's Silver Medal be awarded to the student having the highest awards grade point average in the final year of any undergraduate degree program at the University of Manitoba.

There was a good deal of discussion and it was agreed that, in the opinion of the Executive Committee of the Faculty of Science, the Silver Medal should be awarded according to the criteria specified by the Governor General's Chancellory; that is, the silver medal be awarded to the undergraduate who achieves the highest academic standing in his/her Bachelor degree program.

Mr. Peter Dueck of the Financial Aid and Awards Office mentioned that the award will be discussed and decision made at the Senate meeting of May 20. If it is the recommendation of Senate that Science give one last Gold Medal the recommendation on the medallist could be decided at the June meeting of Executive.

Dr. Baldwin asked whether Senate has considered how they'll adjudicate between faculties for this award. How to compare across faculties for this award must be taken seriously.

There is one clear candidate from Science for the Silver Medal.

It is recommended by the Faculty of Science Executive that

Elizabeth Lynn WHITMORE - #5711537 be nominated as the Faculty of Science candidate for the Governor General's Silver Medal.