Minutes of the 102nd Meeting of the Executive Committee of Science Faculty Council held Monday, July 24, 1989 at 3:00 p.m. in Room 250 Allen Building.

Present:

D. N. Burton (Chair)
J. P. Svenne
W. Falk
K. Kocherlakota
N. Hunter
B. Kunz
R. Davis

J. McConnell

H. Rowe

P. Pachol

Regrets:

T. Booth N. Halden
T. Wiens T. Berry
A. Arnason A. Gerhard

1. Approval of the minutes of the 100th and 101st meetings of Faculty Executive.

It was M/S/C:

That the Minutes of the 100th and 101st meetings of Faculty Executive be approved.

2. Business Arising from Minutes

The UGC did not approve funding for the four-year microbiology-chemistry joint program in biochemistry at St. Boniface College. Dr. Burton reported that he's not sure where the program stands at the moment.

Dr. Burton mentioned that Faculty Executive might have to tighten up the guidelines for choosing Gold Medallists as an unsuccessful candidate has been to see the Ombudsman.

Letters of congratulations were written to all finalists for gold medals. There has been positive response from some parents.

3. Selection of Science award winners

Dr. Burton turned the meeting over to Ms. H. Rowe who took the Committee through the summary charts and data sheets distributed for use in determining the Faculty of Science award winners.

Ms. Rowe reported that the Morton Stall Memorial Scholarship is under review and the winner will be determined at the next meeting of the Executive in October.

Scholarship Awards

Alumni Association

#5904675 CRANE, Brian Chosen on the basis of his being a 3rd yr. honours student.

Alternate

#6008905 REICH, David

Dr. Cohen suggested that a letter be sent to the Alumni Association mentioning the number of Science students who have 4.50 AGPA and suggesting they review the number of awards available to the Faculty.

Dr. Maxwell S. Rady

This scholarship is awarded jointly to and the monetary award split equally among:

#5901255 LIN, Liping #6003777 PHILIPP, Roger #6008905 REICH, David

The University Women's Club of Winnipeg

#6000088 LEE-KWEN, Katrina

Rosabelle Searle Leach

#6021287 NASSER-SHARIF, Susan Chosen on the basis of her additional course work.

Benjamin Cohen

This scholarship is awarded jointly to and the monetary award split equally among:

#6123755 BOYD, Scott #6109430 LAM, Ngam #6123775 YEUNG, Wai Yu

Isbister

These five scholarships are awarded jointly to and the monetary awards split equally among:

#6123755	BOYD, Scott
#6109430	LAM, Ngam
#6000088	LEE-KWEN, Katrina
#5901255	LIN, Liping
#6003777	PHILIPP, Roger
#6008905	REICH, David
#6123775	YEUNG, Wai Yu
#6021287	NASSER-SHARIF, Susan
#5901254	MACBEATH, Gavin

4. Membership of the Committee on Student Standing

Dr. Burton reported the following changes to the membership on the Committee on Student Standing and asked for Executive Committee approval of the changes.

- L. Graham will replace B. Collens (on leave) for one year.
- N. Halden will replace J. Svenne.
- B. Johnston and B. Hann will continue.

It was M/S/C that the membership of the Committee on Student Standing be approved.

Meeting adjourned 3:55 p.m.



THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA

THE FACULTY OF SCIENCE

239 Machray Hall Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada R3T 2N2

(204) 474-8256

July 28, 1989

TO:

Dean Burton, Associate Dean, Faculty of Science

FROM:

Helen Rowe, Student Advisor, Faculty of Science

RE:

The University Women's Club of Winnipeg Scholarship

The above Scholarship was awarded to Lee-Kwen, Katrina #6000088, at the 102nd meeting of the Executive Committee of Science Faculty Council.

This student was also determined to be a winner of a shared Isbister Scholarship; however, it was later determined that these two awards cannot be held together.

With the concurrence of the Awards Office and yourself, the Isbister Scholarship shared by Katrina Lee-Kwen, will now be shared among the other eight recipients of Isbister Scholarships as follows:

Boyd, Scott	#6123755	\$93.75
Lam, Ngau	#6109430	\$93.75
Lin, Liping	#5901255	\$93.75
Nasser-Sharif, Susan	#6021287	\$93.75
Macbeath, Gavin	#5901254	\$93.75
Philipp, Roger	#6003777	\$93.75
Reich, David	#6008905	\$93.75
Yeung, Wai Yu	#6123775	\$93.75

HR/sn

cc

<u>Pat Pachol</u>, Secretary, Executive Committee of Science Faculty Council Joan McConnell, Administrative Assistant, Faculty of Science