Minutes of the 121st Meeting of Executive Committee of Science Faculty Council, Wednesday, May 22, 1996, 250 Allen Building.

Present:

J.C. Jamieson (Chair)

T. Secco
J. Stewart
J. Vail

I. FergusonA. Gerhard

D.N. Burton

G.H.J. van Rees

C. Kozina

K. Keen

Regrets: B. Johnston

G. Klassen

T. Kucera

Visitors: P. Dueck

J. McConnell

1. Dean's Scholarship

Dean Jamieson reported that the Board of Governors allotted \$200,000 for entrance scholarships and this has been approved by Senate.

Dean Jamieson applied to the Science Endowment Fund and was awarded \$8,000 to which the Faculty of Science will add \$16,000 for a total of \$24,000 for Science entrance scholarships.

As we do not have a Faculty of Science scholarship committee, the proposal for a Dean's Scholarship fund was brought forward to Faculty Executive Committee for discussion and approval. Peter Dueck, Director, Financial Aid and Awards was in attendance.

Peter Dueck mentioned that he had a problem in designing the document relating to the \$200,000 entrance scholarships because virtually all winners could end up going to Science with some to Engineering. This would be fine for Science but not for other Deans. He finally developed a quota system for the awarding of scholarships.

Dean Jamieson asked if other Faculties did not take up their quota of scholarships would they be offered to other faculties? Peter Dueck said that they would then go by Faculty choice of students--Science would likely get the lion's share.

Dr. Vail stated that the Board and Senate have the responsibility that all awards are taken up and that the best students should get the scholarships. The best students must be carefully defined.

Dean Burton asked what will happen to program with University I? Peter Dueck said that again the lion's share will end up in Science; there will be no quota and Science may end up getting more.

Mr. Dueck mentioned that we now have a program that stands up very well as a recruiting tool and suggested it might be useful to have a Science telephoning committee to market the Science scholarships.

Dr. Vail made the argument that for all students with over 85% average there should be less difference in the amount of scholarship awards.

There was a discussion on tracking of students and non-uniformity of grades in high schools.

Dr. Vail said there should be the same high school examinations for all schools; all students being judged on same basis.

It was M/S/C:

"That entrance scholarships funds be allocated to students who have applied to Science, have achieved the minimum 85% average, but have not qualified for a scholarship because the quota for Science was filled. The value of these scholarships will be set according to the thresholds given in recommendation 1 of the Senate document on Entrance Scholarships.

A discussion followed on recommendation 2.

Recommendation 2. That any residual scholarship funds (beyond that used in recommendation 1 be used to "top up" scholarships in \$250 increments with the funds being applied to the scholarship winners in the first threshold category in the first instance (above 95%). If additional funds are available they should be applied to the winners in the second and third categories. Top up funds will not be applied to lower categories.

Dr. Vail suggested an amendment to the recommendation; that the guiding principle should be to reduce the gradient amongst the top five categories. Dr. Burton stated that he could support Dr. Vail's view on this and suggested adding "in consultation with Financial Aid and Awards and reported to Faculty Executive".

The following amendment to recommendation 2 was M/S and passed with 3 opposed.

"That the guiding principle would be to reduce the gradient amongst the top five categories. This would be done in consultation with Financial Aid and Awards and reported to Faculty Executive."

Dr. Vail then moved another amendment to the main recommendation. It was seconded and **passed** with 2 opposed.

"That the words 'in \$250 increments' be deleted".

The vote was taken on the amended motion and approved.

The approved motion reads:

"That any residual scholarship funds (beyond that used in recommendation 1) be used to 'top up' scholarships. The guiding principle would be to reduce the gradient amongst the top five categories. This would be done in consultation with Financial Aid and Awards and reported to Faculty Executive."

The awards will appear on student histories.

Dr. Secco asked about the plans for topping up of the Isbister Scholarships. Dean Jamieson stated that we will not have the financial resources for this purpose.

It was M/S/C:

"That the Dean endeavor to find resources to top up the Isbister Scholarships to \$1,500.00".

The Dean said he would do his best.

2. University I

A University I document was circulated to the members of Faculty Executive. Dean Burton asked that members of the Executive Committee share this document with their colleagues and let him have suggestions as soon as possible and to come to Faculty Council primed with questions.

It was suggested that this document and the two other documents mentioned therein be sent to the Department Heads for circulation to their colleagues for comment back to Dean Burton.

3. Other Business

Dean Jamieson reported on the winners of the Governor General's Silver Medal, University Gold Medal in Science and the Faculty Gold Medal winners:

Governor General's Silver Medal and University Gold Medal in Science: Sarah Yost

Faculty Gold Medals: Christopher Hosfield (Honours) Theresa Kuntz (Major) Kerrie Wyant (General)

It was also mentioned that the top five students competing for the Governor General's Silver medal were all from Science.

Dr. Vail asked if some special publicity could be given to Sarah Yost; her picture, plans and awards; possibly a story in the University Bulletin and the newspaper.

Dean Jamieson thanked the outgoing members of the Faculty Executive Committee: B. Johnston, R. McGowan, and J. Vail. The Dean also acknowledged two new members in attendance: Kevin Keen (Statistics) and Colin Kazina (SSA designate).

The Dean congratulated the following members who have recently won Student/Teacher Recognition awards: Kevin Keen, Tony Secco and Dave Punter.

As there was no further business, meeting adjourned 11:15 a.m.

THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA Faculty of Science 250 Machray Hall Office of the Dean Inter-Departmental Correspondence

May 7, 1996.

TO:

Members, Executive Committee of Science Faculty Council

FROM:

Pat Pachol, Secretary

ON:

Notice of Meeting

The 121st meeting of the Executive Committee is scheduled for Wednesday, May 22, 1996 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 250 Allen Building.

Agenda

Discussion of Terms of Reference for a new Dean's Scholarship Program.

/pap

Please confirm your attendance either by telephone (9348) or e-mail to PPachol@bldgwall.lan1.umanitoba.ca