Minutes of the 88th meeting of Faculty Council of Science held Wednesday, April 19, 2000 at 2:30 p.m. in 207 Buller Building.

Present:	J.C. Jamieson (Chair) M. Abrahams	K. Londry J. McConnell
P. Pachol, Secretary Faculty Council of Science 250 Machray Hall	 P. Blunden M. Butler P. Dibrov H. Duckworth W. Falk A. Gerhard 	J. McKee D. Punter G. Robinson T. Secco J. Svenne G. Tabisz
n an	J. Harper E. Huebner N. Hunter G. Klassen P. Loewen H. LeJohn	J. van Rees W. van Oers G. Williams B. Worobec V. Yurkov
Visitor:	H. Paterson	
Regrets:	N. Halden J. Hoskins T. Kucera	A. Larocque R. O'Kell J. Stapleton

1. The Minutes of the 87th meeting of Faculty Council of Science dated November 24, 1999 were **approved.**

2. Course Changes

These were considered by the relevant Faculty committees and forwarded to Faculty Council for information. No questions were raised from the floor of Faculty Council.

3. Dean Jamieson's report

The Dean reported on the following:

Computer Science Development Plan: The Manitoba Government News Release was distributed which announced the \$3.5M grant for the Computer Science Development Plan (formal announcement took place at a ceremony on Monday, April 17 in the Computer Science Department). Dean Jamieson explained the various aspects of the Plan. He indicated that there will be an unknown increase in enrolment and by his rough calculation will produce about \$1M in fees. The Dean mentioned that there is an additional proposal for a new building to house occupants of Machray Hall although he is not overly optimistic; it will depend on the Government budget.

The Dean responded to questions from the floor on topics including:

- the number of new staff to be hired.
- the number of students presently turned down.

- The success rate for students in years 2-3 and 3-4 is not very high now and the Plan will provide extra resources to retain students, i.e. more teaching assistants, cooperating with G. Miller to deal with open areas, and a larger intake of students in year one.
- It is expected that there will be more demand in other courses with increased enrolment in Computer Science.
- The hiring process for Computer Science has been refashioned and we are using a rolling search for positions in Computer Science. Hiring can be done from different pools of applicants as soon as there are suitable candidates instead of waiting for a deadline.
- Budget: The Dean showed an overhead with the various income and expenditure projections for the year, which did not include the Computer Science Development Plan.

The Dean responded to questions relating to salary of new hires and whether the University will be adversely affected by the Computer Science Development Plan.

- Implementation of the Biology program: The Dean reported that the Committee has been meeting to put together the new general program for biology. It is expected to go through the Faculty Committee on Courses in June.
- Advance Expenditure Authorization (Carryover): There is going to be a change in the way Central Administration deals with AEA, with a general move to centralise things. In response to a question, the Dean indicated that the biggest area of carryover is in the Dean's Office account.
- Mike Butler indicated that, with regard to the 21st Century Research Chairs, there is not a lot that we know. There is a lot of speculation and rumour but no announcement as yet. Within the Faculty we are trying to position ourselves to get our fair share of the allocation. He'll pass on any further positive information when we hear.

Dean Jamieson added that the Deans have met and there will be a great deal of lobbying for the number of chairs the University will receive, which he expects to be about 5. The University will be allowed to allocate the chairs as they wish. We'll put forward our best case and hope we are successful.

In response to a question, Dr Butler indicated that he did not have the figures at the meeting on the total dollars in NSERC awards.

Faculty Elections

4.

Election to Senate: At the close of nominations for election to Senate we had received 5 nominations to fill the 5 positions available: Harry Duckworth, John van Rees, Joe Williams, John Page, and Juris Svenne. The Dean called for further nominations from the floor. As there were no further nominations, these members were declared elected to Senate and will serve three-year terms June 1, 2000-May 30, 2003.

Election to Faculty Endowment Committee:

At the close of nominations for election to the Faculty Endowment Committee, Physical Sciences Division, we had received 1 nomination to fill the 1 vacancy: W. George Baldwin. The Dean called for further nominations from the floor. As there were no further nominations, Dr. Baldwin was declared elected to the Faculty Endowment Committee for a three-year term June 1, 2000-May 31, 2003.

As there was no further business, meeting adjourned 3:15 p.m.

THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA Faculty of Science 250 Machray Hall Office of the Dean Inter-Departmental Correspondence

April 11, 2000

TO: All Members of the Faculty Council of Science

FROM: P.A. Pachol, Secretary Palachol

The 88th meeting of the Faculty Council of Science is scheduled for Wednesday, April 19, 2000 at 2:30 p.m. in **207 Buller Building. Please note change in location.**

Agenda

- 1. Approval of the Minutes of the 87th Meeting dated November 24, 1999 (previously distributed)
- 2. Course Changes attached

These have been considered by the relevant Faculty committees and are forwarded to Faculty Council for information. Questions may be raised from the floor.

- 3. Dean Jamieson's Report
 - Budget
 - 21st Century Research Chairs
- 4. Faculty Elections—attachment
- 5. Other Business

/pap

Attachments