Minutes of the 130th meeting of the Faculty of Science Executive Committee held on Tuesday, October 17 in Room 250 Allen Building.

Present:

J.C. Jamieson (Chair)

A. Gerhard

J. Bate

G.G.C. Robinson A. Thavaneswaran

N. Chow

W. Buchannon

G. Valdimarsson

D. Court

I. Waters

M. Doob

H. Williams

Regrets:

R. Wilson

Visitors:

J. McConnell (left after awards approved)

H. Paterson (left after course changes approved)

Dean Jamieson asked everyone in attendance to introduce themselves as there are new members.

1. Minutes of the 129th meeting of Faculty of Science Executive Committee held March 15 were **approved**.

2. Course and Program Changes

Associate Dean Robinson outlined the changes which had been approved by the Faculty Committee on Courses. Dean Robinson acknowledged Heather Paterson for her work on course and program changes. Dr. Robinson mentioned that there were three major drivers of the course changes, i. Mathematics has finished changing the numbering of courses, ii. there is a commonality in the biology programs driving the changes, and iii. the chemistry changes. With the editorial revisions noted, Dr. Robinson moved acceptance of the Course and Program Changes on behalf of the Committee on Courses. Carried

3. Graduate Course Changes

Associate Dean Williams commented on the graduate course changes which were brought to Faculty Executive for information.

4. Selection of Science Award Winners

Joan McConnell outlined the awards available and Dean Robinson's and her rationale behind the distribution of the awards. I. Waters expressed the view that the Hogg,one of the major awards, should go to one of the top ranked students. After discussion on all awards, the following distribution, was **CARRIED**.

Dr. A.W. Hogg Undergraduate Scholarship (\$1,500):

Morris, Andrew

Sony Science Scholarship (\$2,000):

Wiebe, Mark

Isbister Undergraduate Scholarships (5 awards of \$525 each): Morris, Andrew

Wiebe, Mark

Leligdowicz, Alexsándra

Batty, Christopher Hadaller, David Dr. Diane Dowling Scholarship - one award of \$600 and one award of \$500 (two awards

shared equally at \$550 each):

Matheson, Heather

Angelovska, Tatjana

Benjamin Cohen Scholarship (\$325)

Hadaller, David

Dr. Maxwell S. Rady Scholarship in Science (\$225 shared equally between two students).

Yeung, Gordon Northcott, James

Classes '43 & '68 Reunion Scholarship (\$300):

Nikkel, Timothy

Rosabelle Searle Leach Scholarship (\$200 shared equally between two students):

Leligdowicz, Alexsandra

Batty, Christopher

Women in the Physical Sciences 2000 (\$3,493):

The \$2,000 scholarship awarded to:

Ramachandran, Shanta

The remaining \$1,493 split equally between two students:

Wang, Sony Dubuc, Louissa

Mark G. Smerchanski Memorial Scholarship for Women in the Physical Sciences:

Fallis, Jennifer

5. Dean's Report

The Dean reported on the following:

- Visits to departments are underway;

- The Strategic Development Initiative and the request for new positions;

- Upcoming meeting with Vice-President McAdam and items to bring up with him including the Strategic Development Initiative, the holdup on reconstruction at Delta, how we plan to deal with integration of the Computer Science Development Plan into the budget;
- The Vice-President Gardner proposal for Creation of a Faculty of Earth, Environment and Resource Sciences; it will be brought up a Deans' Council on November 9.

Dean Jamieson responded to Dr. Chow's question; for which departments the positions been requested.

There was no further business and the meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.

THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA

Faculty of Science 250 Machray Hall Office of the Dean

Inter-Departmental Correspondence

October 10, 2000

TO:

Members, Executive Committee of Science Faculty council

at Vachal

FROM:

Pat Pachol, Dean's Office, Faculty of Science

ON:

NOTICE OF MEETING

The 130th meeting of the Executive Committee is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. on Tuesday, October 17 in Room 250 Allen Building.

AGENDA

- 1. Minutes of the 129th meeting of Executive Committee held March 15, 2000 (previously distributed)
- 2. Course and Program Changes (enclosed)
- 3. Graduate Course Changes (enclosed for information)
- 4. Selection of Science Award Winners material to be distributed at the meeting
- 5. Dean's Report
- 6. Other Business

Encl.