Faculty and Staff

Department Heads

Department Head, Professor

Dr. Ute Kothe

Parker 360
Ute.Kothe@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9321
Associate Head (Graduate)/Faculty of Science Research Chair in Fundamental Science - Physical Sciences/Professor
Associate Head (Undergraduate)/Senior Instructor

Dr. Carl Bartels

Parker 353
Carl.Bartels@umanitoba.ca 204-480-1038
Associate Head Undergraduate (Courses and Programs)/Professor 

Dr. John Sorensen

Parker 334
John.Sorensen@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9504

Research Faculty

Assistant Professor, Indigenous Scholar

Dr. Myrle Ballard

Parker 554
Myrle.Ballard@umanitoba.ca 204-474-6230
Associate Professor

Dr. Mario Bieringer

Parker 520C
Mario.Bieringer@umanitoba.ca 204-474-6258
(Tier 1) Canada Research Chair in Synthetic Biology/Professor

Dr. Ned Budisa

Parker 598
Nediljko.Budisa@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9178
Associate Professor 

Dr. Rebecca Davis

Parker 552
Rebecca.Davis@umanitoba.ca 204-474-6252
Professor

Dr. Kathleen Gough

Parker 378
Kathleen.Gough@umanitoba.ca 204-474-6262
Faculty of Science Research Chair in Fundamental Sciences (Physical Sciences)/Associate Professor

Dr. David Herbert

Parker 570
David.Herbert@umanitoba.ca 204-474-7535
Associate Professor
Mazdak.Khajehpour@umanitoba.ca 204-272-1546
Professor

Dr. Scott Kroeker

458 Parker
scott.kroeker@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9335
Assistant Professor

Dr. Christian Kuss

Parker 520E
Christian.Kuss@umanitoba.ca 204-480-1823
Assistant Professor

Dr. Sabine Kuss

Parker 336
Sabine.Kuss@umanitoba.ca 204-272-1693
Associate Dean (Undergraduate Programs), Professor

Dr. Sean Mckenna

249 Machray Hall
Sean.McKenna@umanitoba.ca 204-474-8231
Professor
Helene.Perreault@umanitoba.ca 204-474-7418
Assistant professor

Dr. Zev Ripstein

Parker 390
zev.ripstein@umanitoba.ca 204-474-8504
Professor

Dr. Frank Schweizer

Parker 460
Frank.Schweizer@umanitoba.ca 204-474-7012
Associate Head Undergraduate (Courses and Programs)/Professor 

Dr. John Sorensen

Parker 334
John.Sorensen@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9504
(Tier 1) Canada Research Chair in Structural Biology and Biophysics/Professor

Dr. Jörg Stetefeld

Parker 480
jorg.stetefeld@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9731
Director, Centre for Oil and Gas Development, Professor

Dr. Gregg Tomy

Parker 594
Gregg.Tomy@umanitoba.ca 204-474-8127
Associate Head (Graduate)/Faculty of Science Research Chair in Fundamental Science - Physical Sciences/Professor

Instructors

Associate Head (Undergraduate)/Senior Instructor

Dr. Carl Bartels

Parker 353
Carl.Bartels@umanitoba.ca 204-480-1038
Instructor

Dr. Olesya Fedoryak

Parker 220B
Olesya.Fedoryak@umanitoba.ca 204-474-1693
Associate Dean (Undergraduate Studies, Student Experience)/Professor

Krystyna Koczanski

249 Machray Hall
Instructor

Dr. Angela Kuchison

Parker 520G
Angela.Kuchison@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9761
Instructor

Dr. Erin Lindenberg

Parker 220
erin.lindenberg@umanitoba.ca (204) 474-6565
Senior Instructor

Dr. Horace Luong

Parker 264B
Horace.Luong@umanitoba.ca 204-474-7916
Instructor

Dr. Joey Lussier

520D Parker
Joey.Lussier@umanitoba.ca 204-474-7652
Instructor

Dr. Ellert Nichols

Parker 413
Ellert.Nichols@umanitoba.ca 204-474-7415
Senior Instructor

Dr. James Xidos

Parker 520A
James.Xidos@umanitoba.ca 204-474-6078

Teaching Support (Lab Stewards)

Lab Steward
Lab Steward

Dr. Oleg Roussak

Parker 223
Oleg.Roussak@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9363
Lab Steward

Dr. Lilia Shamova

Parker 415
Lilia.Shamova@umanitoba.ca 204-474-6253
Lab Steward

Department Office

Administrative Assistant

Tannis Wills

Parker 360B
tannis.wills@umanitoba.ca 204-474-6243
Office Assistant

Tricia Lewis

Parker 360
tricia.lewis@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9321
Office Assistant

Gipsy Luis Ruesta

Parker 360
gipsy.luisruesta@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9321

Technical Support

NMR Facility Manager

Dr. David Davidson

Parker 313
David.Davidson@umanitoba.ca 204-474-6259
Technician, Science Technical Services and Stores Manager, WHMIS Coordinator for Chemistry Department

Terry Wolowiec

Parker 215
Terry.Wolowiec@umanitoba.ca 204-474-7444
MALDI Mass Spectrometry Facility Technician

Emy Komatsu

Parker 532
Emy.Komatsu@umanitoba.ca 204-474-6561

Science Stores

Sharon Mullen

Parker 141
Sharon.Mullen@umanitoba.ca 204-474-8392
Technician, Science Technical Services and Stores Manager, WHMIS Coordinator for Chemistry Department

Terry Wolowiec

Parker 215
Terry.Wolowiec@umanitoba.ca 204-474-7444

Professor Emeritus

Senior Scholars