Annual Chemistry Awards Night Dinner and Ceremony

The Department held its annual Chemistry Awards Night Dinner and Ceremony on November 7. A highlight of the evening was a presentation by alumnus Professor Ian Smith who reflected on his career path and shared some words of wisdom to our students. The awards ceremony celebrated the students who have been recommended as candidates for the various awards. Dr. Mazdak Khajehpour, chair of the Scholarship and Awards Committee, highlighted that approximately awards consisting of $19,000 has been made available for the undergraduate students and $100,000 for graduate students. The undergraduate student awards were presented by Dr. Nemykin and graduate student awards by Associate Head (graduate studies) Dr. Georg Schreckenbach.

Photo credit: Dr. Horace Luong