Department of Mathematics

Undergraduate Award Opportunities

Undergraduate Student Research Award (URSA’s)

Undergraduate summer research awards allow undergraduate students to get hands on research experience during the summer months, and to be paid for doing it! An USRA is a great opportunity to get a taste of what it’s like to do mathematical research. Each summer, students have the opportunity to work alongside professors in their research labs. These awards are intended to stimulate the interest of undergraduate students by providing them with a valuable experiential learning opportunity in a scientific research environment. Students holding one of these awards will participate in research activities during their work period.

If you’d like to apply for a NSERC or Faculty of Science USRA, you should complete these steps before end of the term:

  1. Review the list of eligibility requirements below to ensure that you can hold an award.
  2. Identify some potential supervisors, review their personal web pages, and email the researcher to arrange a talk about research opportunities. Faculty of Science researchers willing to supervise USRA students can be found below

The following Mathematics Faculty members are willing to work with or be interviewed by students for the purposes of the award: Click on a faculty’s name for more information or visit our Research Page to see their specific research topics!

MATHEMATICS URA SUPERVISORS

Name
Title
Email
Professor
Julien.Arino@umanitoba.ca
Assoc. Head Grad/Associate Professor
Adam.Clay@umanitoba.ca
Associate Professor
Raphael.Clouatre@umanitoba.ca
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics
Susan.Cooper@umanitoba.ca
Assistant Professor
Karen.Gunderson@umanitoba.ca
Assistant Professor
Kang-Ling.Liao@umanitoba.ca
Head/Professor
Shaun.Lui@umanitoba.ca
Professor
Stephanie.Portet@umanitoba.ca
Professor
Yang.Zhang@umanitoba.ca
Assistant Professor
Richard.Slevinsky@umanitoba.ca