Research Area

Subatomic Physics

We study fundamental symmetries and building blocks of the universe.

Subatomic Physics

Subatomic Physics

We have an internationally recognized research program in precision low-energy measurements of the fundamental symmetries in nature, making it the pre-eminent university-based group in this field in Canada. Current efforts include experiments at TRIUMF National Laboratory in Canada and at international facilities, including the US Argonne and Jefferson National Laboratories, the Spallation Neutron Source at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and smaller efforts at RCNP Osaka, in Japan, and at MAMI, in Mainz, Germany. The group will continue to play a leadership role in large collaborations including a proposal to create a world-leading ultra-cold neutron facility at TRIUMF. The experimental effort is complemented by strategic theoretical efforts in low energy nuclear and particle physics and related work in string theory and quantum gravity.

Faculty Active in this Research Area

Acting Department Head/Professor

Peter Blunden

Allen Building 509
blunden@physics.umanitoba.ca 204 480 1449
Associate Professor

Wouter Deconinck

204 Allen Building
wouter.deconinck@umanitoba.ca 204-474-6206
Professor

Michael Gericke

213 Allen Bldg
mgericke@physics.umanitoba.ca 204 474 6203
Professor & Assoc. Head (Grad)

Gerald Gwinner

209 Allen Bldg
gerald.gwinner@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9856
Assistant Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Professor Emeritus

Kumar Sharma

211 Allen Bldg
sharma@physics.umanitoba.ca 204 474 6181
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Assistant Professor
Savino.Longo@umanitoba.ca 204-474-9351

Adjunct Faculty Active in this Research Area

Name
Title
Room
Phone
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
Adjunct Professor
-
-
Adjunct Professor
-
-