Wawatay External Advisory Board

Wawatay External Advisory Board
The dean of the Faculty of Science selected the members of this board based on their recognized expertise in science, education and/or Indigenous communities. The group meets quarterly so it can oversee the strategic direction of the program, raise funds for the program as well as offer operational suggestions as needed.

The external members include:

  • Roger Dube – Emeritus Professor at Rochester Institute of Technology and enrolled member of Abenaki Nation
  • Tony Williams – Chairperson of the Verna J Kirkness Education Foundation
  • R. Beardy – Education Coordinator-Indigenous Programs, Science Division, Canadian Light Source Inc.
  • Stewart Hill – Senior Research and Policy Analyst at Manitoba Keewatinowki Okimakanak
  • Thelma Nice
  • Stephanie Waterman – Associate Professor at the University of Toronto and Onondaga Elder
  • Bernie Petit – Education Coordinator-Indigenous Programs, Science Division; Canadian Light Source Inc.
  • Clarke Garrioche
  • Luis Manzo

Faculty of Science employees who also participate in the advisory board meetings include Carrie Selin as well as Physics professor Samar Safi-Harb.