May 23,1979

hider

The Minutes of the 57th Meeting of the Executive Committee of Faculty Council held on Wednesday, May 23,1979 at 10:00 a.m. in the Faculty Conference Room, 250 Allen Building.

Members Present: R. D. Connor, Chairman; Professors B. D. Macpherson,

P. K. Isaac, P. Loewen, H. Duckworth, R. E. Longton,

K. Mount, R. G. Woods, K. W. Stewart; G. Richardson,

Secretary

Regrets:

H. Christianson and W. C. Brisbin

Visitors:

C. Prosk, V. Taylor, C. Henry

The Minutes of the 56th meeting held on May 9,1979 were approved Duckworth (Woods).

There were no matters arising from these minutes, and there were no communications.

4. Bursary and Award Winners

(i) University of Manitoba Faculty Association Scholarship

It was pointed out that this scholarship had to be awarded in its entirety and could not be split. The top four candidates each had weighted G.P.A.'s of 4.50. Because of this the committee took into consideration the previous year's work and on this basis the scholarship was awarded to LUI, Kam Patrick.

(ii) Morton Stall Memorial Scholarship and the Maxwell Rady Scholarship

Because the same two students, each with 4.50 G.P.A.'s, appeared on both these scholarships, it was agreed that they would split the monetary awards. The winners were <u>GUSLITS</u>, <u>B. G.</u>, and <u>ZANKE</u>, <u>B. W.</u> Patrick Lui was a contender for the Rady Scholarship but because he had been awarded the UMFA scholarship the committee decided not to include him in their considerations.

(iii) Rosabelle Searle Leach Scholarship

This scholarship was awarded to KLEIMAN, R.N.

(iv) University Women's Club of Winnipeg

This scholarship was awarded to ADDISON, B.

(v) <u>Isbister Scholarship</u>

It was agreed that <u>KARASICK</u>, <u>M.S.</u> would receive a full Isbister scholarship, and <u>GRAHAM</u>, <u>C.R.</u>, <u>McGINNIS</u>, <u>R.K.</u>, <u>TAGGER</u>, <u>O.Y</u>, <u>LEE</u>, <u>F.T.P.</u> and <u>MEYERS</u>, <u>M.P.</u>

would share the remaining four Isbister scholarships plus one Alumni Scholarship.

(vi) Alumni Association Scholarship

Included in the list of possible winners was a student who had taken a 33 credit hour load. Based on the 33 credit hours he had a weighted GPA of 3.91 which included a F-Incomplete on a 3 credit hour course. Without this course and based on a normal 30 credit hour program he had a weighted GPA of 4.30. The committee learned that it was not unusual for grades of this sort to be given by this particular department. In fact 3 of the 6 students taking the course had "Incompletes". Part of the problem was that these students had to complete their assignments by using the University's computer which at exam time was very heavily booked. It was Dean Macpherson's understanding that the Department forewarned all their students who requested an Incomplete status that their decision could affect their chances for scholarship and inclusion on the Dean's Honour List. The final decision was the student's. With this information it was moved Longton (Woods) that:

"the student should be considered on the basis of 30 credit hours".

3 in favour5 againstDEFEATED

Consideration of this student at his full 33 credit hour program meant that he was not eligible for an Alumni scholarship.

The Committee moved Duckworth (Stewart) to award the remaining 22 scholarships to the following students:

Anderson, K.E. Bayomi, D. J. Carson, S.E. Patterson, C.D. Lee, S.S. Karasiuk, G.R. Doak, G.J. Veregin, R.P. Enns, E.R. Semelka, R.C. Smith, D.L. Mowat, G.S. Potter, T.C. Brownstone, R.M. Dhillon, M.D. Froese, N.R. From, M.L.

Each of these students would receive a full Alumni Scholarship. The following students would share the remaining five scholarships:

Bard, R.J.
Davidson, J.M.
Enns, J.P.I.
Gullichsen, E.A.
Tam, S.C.J.
Acheson, L.D.
Brown, C.D.
Burega, P.M.
McLennon, J.E.
Craton, D.N.

The Committee ratified the tentative winners of the other scholarships by unanimous vote. It was formally moved Macpherson (Woods) that

"this committee authorize Carol Prosk and Prof. C. Henry to make any changes necessary to the Committee's chosen winners".

Unanimous

5. Other Business

Dean Macpherson wished to report on the two items from the $\underline{\text{Report on the}}$ $\underline{\text{New Degrees}}$ that had been sent to the Faculty Committee on Courses for disposition.

(i) Courses from outside the faculty available to Science students

It was the Committee on Courses' decision that because students now have the right to request credit for courses taken which are not on the special course list, that they would not alter this route. They did recommend however that this right and the route to follow be more widely advertised. The Committee was concerned with the magnitude of the number of courses available that students could request credit for and they did not want to have to study each one individually to decide whether or not it was appropriate. The committee was also conscious of the feelings that could be generated in other faculties and schools if certain courses they proposed were deemed by Science not to be appropriate for Science students. Finally the committee felt it necessary to establish a time by which the student would have to have their requests made known. The Committee, which would make the final decision, did not want to be flooded with requests at the start of classes each September as they felt they would be if they did not set a deadline.

(ii) Preparation of recommended programs of courses

The Committee on Courses was not sure what was meant by this recommendation. They interpreted it to mean advice given to first year students on the best selection of courses to enrol in, in first year, knowing that the student wished to eventually go into Chemistry, Physics, or whatever.

The departments were grouped and members of the Committee on Courses were going to formulate a list of recommended courses for each group i.e Mathematics departments, Biology departments, and report back to the Committee.

Before adjourning the meeting the Chairman thanked those members whose term of office concluded May 31 for their time and contributions to the meetings. These members were Drs. Longton, Duckworth, Brisbin, and Gerhard.

The meeting adjourned at 11.10 a.m.

gr/sc

THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA

binder

Inter-Departmental Correspondence

			ι	DATE May 15,1979	
то	Members of the	Executive Committee	ee of Science Facult	y Council	
FROM	G. Richardson,	Secretary			
SUBJECT:				•.	

The fifty-seventh meeting of the Executive Committee of Faculty Council has been called for Wednesday, May 23, 1979 at 10:00 a.m. in the Faculty Conference Room, 250 Allen Bldg.

AGENDA

- 1. Approval of the Minutes of the fifty-sixth meeting
- 2. Matters arising therefrom
- 3. Communications
- 4. Selection of the various Faculty bursary award winners
- 5. Other business.

gr/sc.