115th mtg

A meeting of the Faculty of Science Executive Committee was held on July 14, 1994 at 1:30 p.m. in Room 250 Allen.

In attendance were:

D. Trim

J. Van Rees

R. McGowan

R. Sparling

B. Johnston

D. Punter

J. Vail

D. N. Burton, Chair

J. McConnell, Acting Secretary

g. Charlton was

moust sum ord.

It was decided that the minutes of the previous meeting would be considered at another meeting.

The Chair outlined the two options for deciding awards - strictly according to criteria, or trying to distribute awards as widely as possible. He advised that the Financial Aid and Awards Office instructed that the first option is the only one that could be used: we cannot amend the terms of the awards to our own purposes; therefore, for example, the A.W. Hogg must go to the top candidate.

The Chair outlined a proposed distribution of awards based on criteria. Based on this proposal, it was MOVED (Sparling/Van Rees) to award students as follows:

Brian LOEWEN #6406792 to receive the A.W. Hogg Undergraduate Scholarship (as he is the only student in Year 3 of an Honors program);

Geoffrey MACDONNELL #6505362, Ramon Lawrence #6510733, and Adam CHENG #6501404 to share the Dr. Maxwell S. Rady Scholarship;

Sarah YOST #6503822 to receive the University Women's Club of Winnipeg Undergraduate Scholarship

Jason CLARK #6602975 to receive the Rosabelle Searle Leach Scholarship;

Christian PANTEL #6379216 and Christopher HOSFIELD #6502314 to share the Benjamin Cohen Scholarship;

Brian LOEWEN #6406792, Geoffrey MACDONNELL #6505362, Ramon LAWRENCE #6510733, Adam CHENG #6501404, and Tao LU #6501319 receive the five Isbister Scholarships in Science; and

Tao LU #6501319 receive the first Sony Science Scholarship.

CARRIED.

Dr. Vail noted that he had received an Isbister Scholarship in 1948.

Members expressed concern about the discriminatory nature of the University Women's Club Scholarship, which is only available to women. As the criteria do not allow it to be held with other awards, but they do require that the top female student receive this award, some females may be excluded from other awards with higher monetary value. Members thought that the Financial Aid and Awards Office should pursue a change in criteria for consideration to allow it to be held with other awards. This will allow us to consider the top female for other awards if she is so deserving, and will also allow us to fulfill the criteria of other awards, which also require that the top student receive them. The top woman should be considered equal to all candidates, and this exclusion does not do this.

Members expressed dismay about the small number of awards available and the small amount of money attached to most awards. Members wondered if the University could be encouraged to increase the capital invested for these awards, or to top up the awards on a yearly basis. The Chair thought that the Faculty Endowment Fund might be approached for some contribution to the faculty's scholarships and awards. Members also thought that some donors should be encouraged to revise their criteria to allow high, rather than highest standing, to allow us some latitude in determining awards.

Members felt that some publicity should be attached to these awards, such as a picture in the University Bulletin or the Free Press, and that a reception for all awards, where students can invite their families, would be useful. It would add importance to the awards, would recognize good students and would remind the public of our presence. Perhaps a certificate could be devised to give to award winners, or a small medal struck.

It was agreed that the Financial Aid and Awards Office would be contacted about these points.

Love V. Wemin's Chat four furt dring it. As there was no further business, it was MOVED (Sparling/Trim) to adjourn at 1:15 p.m.

white value of around
please again
persue again



THE UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA

FACULTY OF SCIENCE Office of the Dean

239 Machray Hall Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada R3T 2N2

Tel.: (204) 474-9348 FAX: (204) 261-7548

June 16, 1994

TO:

Members, Faculty Executive Committee, Faculty of Science

FROM:

Joan McConnell, Administrative Assistant, Faculty of Science

RE:

Notice of Meeting

Please be advised that the next meeting of the Faculty of Science Executive Committee will be on

> Thursday, July 14, 1994 1:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. 250 Allen Building

to determine Faculty award winners.

Please contact me at 8173 if you are unable to attend.

JMc/ird

Distribution:

M. Sumner, Department of Botany

J. Charlton, Department of Chemistry S. Cheng, Department of Statistics

D. Trim, Department of Applied Mathematics W. Last, Department of Geological Sciences

N. Mendelsohn, Department of Mathematics and Astronomy

J. Vail, Department of Physics J. Gee, Department of Zoology

R. Sparling, Department of Microbiology

G. H. J. van Rees, Department of Computer Science

A. Toews, Senior Stick, Science Students' Association

>K. Cranston, Science Students' Association

> A. Naimark, President, University of Manitoba

P. Dueck, Financial Aid and Awards Office