philosophia mathematica prize in applied mathematics

Dr. Robert Thomas of the Department of Mathematics of The University of Manitoba initially endowed this annual award to reward and encourage excellence among undergraduates in applied mathematics programs. The Department of Applied Mathematics, the Department of Mathematics and the Manitoba Scholarship and Bursary Initiative have made contributions to this fund. One award, valued at the available annual interest, is to be offered each year to the student who has completed either second or third year with a full course load and with a minimum G.P.A. of 3.5 and who is judged by the selection committee to be the best mathematics student in those years (based on courses in pure and applied mathematics). Other things being equal, the award is to be offered to the best third year applied mathematics student.

Dr. Robert Thomas obtained his B.Sc., M.A. and PhD from the University of Toronto, University of Waterloo and University of Southampton, respectively. He is the editor of Philosophia Mathematica, which is the only journal in the world on philosophy of mathematics and is the philosophical journal of the Canadian Society for History and Philosophy of Mathematics. He was the last head of the Department of Applied Mathematics before it was merged with the Department of Mathematics in 1998. His areas of research are geometry and philosophy of Mathematics.

Past winners:

  • Tyler D. Evans (2016R)
  • Michael Kresta (2015R)
  • Tim Hoffman (2014R)
  • Timjan Kalajdzievski (2013R)
  • Krista Reimer (2012R)
  • Jody Reimer (2011R)
  • William Toni (2010R)
  • Todd Sierens (2009R)
  • Jooyong Cha (2008R)
  • Sohyun Choi (2007R)
  • Micael Smadella (2005R)